National Barley Improvement Committee elects new members
  • 05/19/2022

National Barley Improvement Committee elects new members

The National Barley Improvement Committee (NBIC) has wrapped up its annual election to fill vacancies within their regional categories. Five new barley professionals will be joining the committee, and two representatives have been re-elected. The NBIC represents the U.S. barley community of growers, researchers, processors, users, and allied industries. The work of the NBIC seeks to secure both funding and favorable agricultural policies at the federal level. Visit their website to learn more about the regional categories and how to become involved:  

  • Northwest: Dr. Brigid Meints, assistant professor in the barley breeding program at Oregon State University
  • Southwest: Judy Jolly, agronomist for the Molson Coors Beverage Company
  • Northcentral: Dr. Thomas Baldwin, assistant professor in the Department of Plant Pathology at North Dakota State University; Dr. Eric Stockinger (re-elected), barley associate professor at Ohio State University; and Dr. Brook Wilke, associate director of the Kellogg Biological Station Long-Term Agroecosystem Research Program at Michigan State University
  • Southcentral-Southeast: Dr. Katherine Frels, assistant professor at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
  • East: Dr. Heather Darby (re-elected), professor of agronomy at the University of Vermont

The barley community would like to thank the many years of service contributed by the outgoing members of the NBIC:

  • Dr. Andrew Friskop
  • Dr. Patrick Hayes
  • Wade Malchow
  • Mary-Jane Maurice